January 17, 2021

Marianne Faithful: interview in The Guardian

Marianne Faithful is interviewed in The Guardian about her career and her new album She Walks in Beauty, on which she recites poems by William Keats, Percy Shelley, William Wordsworth, Lord Byron, Thomas Hood and Alfred Lord Tennyson. accompanied by musical arrangements by Warren Ellis, Brian Eno, Nick Cave and Vincent Sega. It might her last album, after COVID-19 ravaged her lungs:

Maybe that’s over. I would be incredibly upset if that was the case, but, on the other hand, I am 74. I don’t feel cursed and I don’t feel invincible. I just feel fucking human. But what I do believe in, which gives me hope, I do believe in miracles. You know, the doctor, this really nice National Health doctor, she came to see me and she told me that she didn’t think my lungs would ever recover. And where I finally ended up is: OK, maybe they won’t, but maybe, by a miracle, they will. I don’t know why I believe in miracles. I just do. Maybe I have to, the journey I’ve been on, the things that I’ve put myself through, that I’ve got through so far and I’m OK. Does that sound really corny?
She Walks In Beauty

She Walks In Beauty will be released 30 April on BMG.

  1. She Walks in Beauty (Lord Byron)
  2. The Bridge of Sighs (Thomas Hood)
  3. La Belle Dame Sans Merci (John Keats)
  4. Ode to a Nightingale (John Keats)
  5. Ode to Autumn (John Keats)
  6. Ozymandias (Percy Bysshe Shelley)
  7. From The Prelude (William Wordsworth)
  8. Surprised by Joy (Williams Wordsworth)
  9. To the Moon (Percy Bysshe Shelley)
  10. So We’ll Go No More A Roving (Lord Byron)
  11. The Lady of Shalott (Lord Tennyson)

» mariannefaithfull.org.uk

No comments:

Post a Comment