September 01, 2020

Mammal Hands: Captured Spirits

photo: Alex Kozobolis

Norwich based jazz trio Mammal Hands are not purists. They love to branch out and use elements of ambient, triphop and neo-classical music in their compositions. Their new album Captured Spirits is a true cross-over record, a treasure trove of sounds and rhythms created through both improvisation and hard work.

Jesse Barrett's use of tabla gives fans of fusion something to latch unto, especially when brothers Jordan (saxophone) and Nick Smart (piano) take off with a flurry of notes. Captured Spirits is a record that solidifies their reputation as a front-runner in the UK avant-garde jazz scene. They can soothe, snarl, and charge. No matter which path they choose, it's never a dead end.

Mammal Hands:
Jordan Smart: saxophone
Nick Smart: piano
Jesse Barrett: drums, tabla

Captured Spirits is released via Gondwana Records (vinyl, CD, digital). Release date: September 11.

  1. Ithaca
  2. Chaser
  3. Late Bloomer
  4. Versus Shapes
  5. Spiral Stair
  6. Floating World
  7. Riddle
  8. Rhizome
  9. Shoreless
  10. Into Sparks
  11. Little One


No comments:

Post a Comment