November 23, 2019

Wooden Soldiers: Wooden Soldiers

Dutch rootsy dreamfolk sextet Wooden Soldiers have expanded their musical palette for their first full-length. Besides their crystal clear, spot-on three-part vocal harmonies they have incorporated a few tricks that are not on the menu in their niche. A guitar is allowed to howl a bit, extra borderline post-rock textures were applied, giving their songs an edge and tension that digs deep.

The vocals are the main building blocks of their songs, with the instrumentation being allowed to wander around a bit. While the days of audience members shouting "Judas" are long gone hardcore folkies might be offended, Listeners with an open mind will be pleasantly surprised. Recommended if you like late Seventies Fleetwood Mac and Town of Saints.

Wooden Soldiers:
Frank Wolff; vocals, guitar
Agnes Loonstra: vocals, Indian harmonium, ukelele
Nora Iburg: vocals
Jan vd Hoeven: bass
Bart van Gemert: drums
Marthe Lasthuis: violin

Wooden Soldiers is a self-released album (digital, CD). Release date: November 29.

  1. Intro
  2. You Know
  3. Potion
  4. City Lights
  5. Carry On
  6. Fly On
  7. Wind and Rain
  8. The Joker
  9. The Garden Part I
  10. The Garden Part II
  11. My Name
  12. Crazy Town
  13. I Do

Live date:
  • 11/27 Utrecht, Netherlands @ Vechtclub XL
    (album release show)


No comments:

Post a Comment