September 30, 2019

Waltzburg: Cut The Wire

Dutch indie band Waltzburg play quirky pop songs a ka Tullycraft. Their new album Cut The Wire has elements of New Wave, synth pop, and art rock. They threw in downright cheesy keyboard parts and get away it, because their melodies are too damn catchy to ignore. Make no mistake, the songs are far more complicated than they might seem, speeding up and slowing down, with Calm Down as the prime example.

They have tons of tricks up their sleeves, but they use them wisely. Note the old school vocal effects they unearthed for Exhale, making it a weird excursion into baroque pop. Bowing out with the superb progressive power ballad Eyes Shut they have a winning formula of smartness and accessibility that is hard to pin down or replicate.

Menno Krivokutya: vocals, guitar
Nicole Jansen: vocals, keyboards
Jesse Smits: bass
Joost Klapmuts: keyboards
Ruben Marseille: drums, percussion

Cut The Wire is a self-released album. Buy it (CD, digital) from their website. Release date: October 11.

  1. Gotor
  2. Consensus
  3. Ages
  4. Friends
  5. Oklahoma
  6. Exhale
  7. Calm Down
  8. Battered
  9. Eyes Shut
Live dates:
  • 10/17 Merleyn, Nijmegen (album release show)
  • 10/25 V11, Rotterdam
  • 10/31 EKKO, Utrecht
  • 11/02 Simplon, Groningen
  • 11/07 Paradiso, Amsterdam

» Waltzburg on Facebook

No comments:

Post a Comment