May 21, 2019

The 44's: Twist the Knife

Blues band The 44s have gone through quite a different line-ups over the years, but one thing never changed: their dedication to old school electric blues. Band leader Johnny Main and bass player Mike Hightower found a few like-minded musicians for the current incarnation of the band in order to record a long overdue new studio album.

Twist the Knife rekindles a healthy dose of classics plus one original, Cuttin' Deep, written by Main. Muddy Waters's Champagne and Reefer and T Bone Walker's 44’s Shuffle are the stand-out tracks on this album that scratches where it itches, a celebration of swinging 12-bar blues that you can dance too.

The 44s:
Johnny Main: vocals, guitar
Eric Von Herzen: harmonica
Mike Hightower: bass
Gary Ferguson: grums
Junior Watson: guitar

Twist the Knife is released via Rip Cat Records.

  1. Cuttin' Deep
  2. Sugar You
  3. Howlin’
  4. Champagne and Reefer
  5. Too Many Drivers
  6. Rosie
  7. Helsinki
  8. 44’s Shuffle

Live dates:
  • 06/15 Pomona, CA @ Old Stump Brewery Concert Series
  • 06/19 Lincoln, NE @ Zoo Bar
  • 06/20 Fremont, NE @ Corner Bar
  • 06/21 Kansas City, KS @ BB’s Lawnside Blues Club
  • 06/22 Paola, KS @ Blues on The Farm
  • 06/23 Does Moines, IA @ Does Moines, IALefty’s Live
  • 06/24 Springfield, IL @ The Alamo Blues Night
  • 06/28 Phoenix, AZ @ The Rhythm Room
  • 06/29 Mesa, AZ @ Mesa Harley Davidson
  • 07/20 San Diego, CA@ Tio Leos w/Eric Leiberman Band
  • 08/16 Costa Mesa, CA @ Costa Mesa Performing Arts Center

» The 44's on Facebook

No comments:

Post a Comment