May 06, 2019

Point Quiet: Walking in the Wild

Dutch country noir band Point Quiet continue their quest to bring heartland Americana to their own shores. The new album Walking in the Wild tackles familiar subjects like loneliness, travel and heartbreak. With multi-instrumentalist Joost Verbraak as a replacement for drummer Daan van Diest they cast an even wider net musically, which they used to add more Tex-Mex to the mix.

Vocalist Pascal Hallibert keeps it soft and intimate, sitting smack in the middle of the mix, without getting in the way of the lonesome sound of the pedal steel and brass section. Point Quiet live up to their name with this new batch of gentle and sad songs. Walking in the Wild is welcome addition to their slow growing discography.

Point Quiet:
Pascal Hallibert: vocals, guitar, Hammond organ, mandoline
Hans Custers: double bass, trombone, guitar
Joost Verbraak: trumpet, trombone, horn, keyboards, accordion, percussion
Simone Manuputty: violin, viola, vocals, harmonium
Jan van Bijnen: pedal steel, dobro, mandolin, banjo, vibraphone, harmonica, glockenspiel, trumpet, accordion, percussion, vocals

Walking in the Wild is released via Continental Records Europe (vinyl, CD, digital).

  1. Highway In Your Head
  2. Lonely Nights
  3. Tales Of The Road
  4. Vera Cruz
  5. Not All Lies
  6. Walking In The Wild
  7. Now You know It
  8. Written On Bones
  9. The Distance
  10. Never Too Late
  11. The Last Time
  12. Storms and Winds

Live date:
  • 05/17 Concerto Recordstore, Amsterdam


HCTF review of Ways And Needs Of A Night Horse.

No comments:

Post a Comment