January 09, 2019

Rosie Carney: Bare

Irish singer Rosie Carney plays mellow, almost ambient, folk on her debut full-length Bare. The soft-spoken music purrs quietly underneath her crystal clear vocals. Inspired by her immediate surroundings she paints the musical equivalents of water colours.

Every note counts and this less is more approach demands undivided attention. She discusses isolation and lovers lost in concise poetry that belies her age. Carney is only 21, but she has been writing songs since she was 13. Her quiet, bittersweet intensity is compelling and endearing as well. No Hollywood endings, but as a listener you hope she comes out on top.

Bare is released on Akira Records. Release date: January 25.

  1. What You've Been Looking For
  2. Bare
  3. Thousand (feat. Lisa Hannigan)
  4. Winter
  5. Humans
  6. Awake Me
  7. Zoey
  8. Orchid
  9. Your Love is Holy
  10. Bud (Rose)

Live dates:
  • 01/30 Dublin, Ireland @ The Grand Social
  • 01/31 London, UK @ The Courtyard Theatre
  • 02/22 Stockholm, Sweden @ Daze Days
  • 03/02 Zürich, Switzerland @ Radar Festival for New Music

» Rosie Carney on Facebook

No comments:

Post a Comment