September 11, 2018

Pale Waves: My Mind Makes Noises

When in need of a dose of breezy emo indie rock, English quartet Pale Waves is just what the doctor ordered. Their new album My Mind Makes Noises has the required sad but cheerful songs about heartbreak, sex, and other relationship issues. Taking cues for the New Romantics and bubblegum pop they will be appeal to youngsters making their way into music. Pretty easy to digest and well-crafted this album can be the first step to get out of the dead end of modern day r&B, but also rather faceless.

Teen rags will describe them as edgy, but they couldn't be more wrong. They are blatantly commercial and need to break free from the safe format when they want to make a more lasting impression. And slap that damn engineer on his fingers when he is messing with the vocals. The only effect he achieves through his meddling is to make it sound instantly dated.

My Mind Makes Noises is released thru Dirty Hit. Release date: September 14.

  1. Eighteen
  2. There’s a Honey
  3. Noises
  4. Came In Close
  5. Loveless Girl
  6. Drive
  7. When Did I Lose It All
  8. She
  9. One More Time
  10. Television Romance
  11. Red
  12. Kiss
  13. Black
  14. Karl (I Wonder What It’s Like To Die)


No comments:

Post a Comment