June 26, 2018

Pretend Chess: Crime

Synth duo Pretend Chess invited nearly all the students from their dorm they call home in Chapel Hill, NC to contribute to their first album Crime, a collection of tinkling, melancholic electronic rock, orchestral pop, and jazz. While they could gone a little easier on the effects, it's a truly charming and original first effort. Singer amd synth player Sydney Gallek and lead guitarist Will Cole are acting as musical polar opposites to create an intriguing multi-layered tapestry of sounds and moods.

Recorded on a shoestring budget Crime sounds homegrown and lo-fi - the mix could have been better - but that can't hide the fact that Gallek and Cole are on to something good and worthwhile. Their musical ideas and risk taking might clash with their budget, but they are far better than tons of established indie bands with a record deal. A+ for making it real.

Crime is a self-released album. Buy it (pay-what-you-want) from their website.

  1. Ghost
  2. Now That You're Gone
  3. Take Care
  4. Memory
  5. Sorry
  6. Playback
  7. Gridlock
  8. Crime
  9. The Fall
  10. American Summer

» Pretend Chess on Facebook

No comments:

Post a Comment