June 07, 2018

Pocket Knife Army: Forever Counting Sheep

Dutch electronic pop duo Pocket Knife Army took sleep paralysis - a state when a person is awake but unable to move or speak - as the subject matter for their new album Forever Counting Sheep. Desirée Coumans (vocals, looper, guitar, synths) and Erwin Tuijl (synths, programming) explore the fears and dreams that come with it, using both gentle pop and oppressive, even harsh, noise.

The music has a hallucinating yet alluring intensity. By sitting on the fence between being awake and asleep it's neigh impossible to decide if something is real or a mind fuck. Forever Counting Sheep might be too scary for some, but as a project/concept album it is a fascinating journey into darkness. The self-imposed limitations - both musically (if they can't make it work in a live setting, it's not on the album) and thematically - made it a record that unfolds like a chrysalis into a butterfly.

Forever Counting Sheep is a self-released album (digital, CD, vinyl). Buy it from their website.

  1. Tell Me Who I Am Today
  2. Butterfly
  3. Let Go
  4. Charleroi
  5. Forever Counting Sheep
  6. Carry My Name
  7. Kill the Watches
  8. Exhale
  9. You Never Know If They Come Back
  10. Silky Sand
  11. Trail of Stones

» Pocket Knife Army on Facebook

No comments:

Post a Comment