June 06, 2018

Andy Pratt: Further Disruption

photo: Phil Goldman

Andy Pratt's new EP Further Disruption is the raw companion for his debut album Horizon Disrupted. With producer Steve Albini once again in charge, the five stripped down tracks were recorded in Studio A of Electical Audio in Chicago. By choosing to go for all analog and live with just a few overdubs, Pratt was able to unleash his inner rocker over the course of three days. He is a narrator of bittersweet stories and while the people in his songs are likely to fall on hard times, they always find a way to cope.

Lincloln Aveneuew and God Only Gives You So Many Drinks are swinging rockers with a country twist, and the spoken word and upright bass pairing in Thrift Store Girl has late night speak easy favourite written all over it. Rockabilly fans will give Get Close To Me a thumbs up, before Pratt bids the listener good night with the jazzy Happiness Is Home.

Andy Pratt: vocals, guitars
Joe Policastro: bass
Mikel Patrick Avery: drums

Further Disruption is released on his own label Girl Thrift Records (CD, cassette, digital). Buy it from his website.

  1. Lincoln Avenue
  2. God Only Gives You So Many Drinks
  3. Thrift Store Girl
  4. Get Close To Me
  5. Happiness Is Home

Live dates:
  • 06/06 Louisville, KY @ Mag Bar
  • 06/07 Nashville, TN @ Tennessee Brew Works
  • 06/08 Knoxville, TN @ Modern Studio
  • 06/11 Richmond, VA @ Cary St. Cafe
  • 06/12 Durham, NC @ Arcana Durham
  • 06/13 Washington, DC @ Electric Maid
  • 06/14 Williamsburg, VA @ Triangle
  • 06/16 Somerville, MA @ Aeronaut Brewing Co.
  • 06/19 Rochester, NY @ Little Cafe
  • 06/20 Windsor, ON @ Phog Lounge
  • 06/22 Beavercreek OH @ Spinoza’s Pizza & Salads

» andyprattmusic.com

HCTF review of Horizon Disrupted.

No comments:

Post a Comment