May 23, 2018

Pieter de Graaf: Prologue

For his debut EP Prologue Dutch pianist Pieter de Graaf did some serious soul searching, trying encapsulate his wide palette of musical tastes and influences. When push cam to the shove he gravitated to neo-classical, but there are bits and pieces that show his love for Bach, The Beatles and Miles Davis. De Graaf has a loose touch, using his fingers to create various moods - dreamy, self-assured, and thoughtful.

The six compositions are sequenced as the first side of a full album. The EP serves as a the business card for the larger scale project Fermata that will be released on an album in the near future. While he makes it sound quite easy, the two scores that are available for free on his site tell a different story. Pieter de Graaf can hold his own as both a performing artist and a composer.

Prologue is released thru Sony Music. Release date: May 25th.

  1. Prologue
  2. Charlotte's Daydream
  3. Hide and Seek
  4. City 40
  5. A Minor Story
  6. Rise and Shine

Live dates:
  • 05/24 Amsterdam, Netherlands @ TSH Collab
  • 06/03 Utrecht, Netherlands @ Culturele Zondag Utrecht 2018
  • 06/15 Utrecht, Netherlands @ TivoliVredenburg
  • 07/15 Amsterdam, Netherlands @ Vondelpark Openluchttheate


No comments:

Post a Comment