January 07, 2018

Son of Radul: Sleepwalker

Avant-garde musicians Marcelo Radulovich takes part in a nice bunch bunch of acts, but when he dons the mantle of Son of Radul it's just him playing all the instruments and handling the vocals. On his new album Sleepwalker he tackles fears, nightmares and mental illnesses. His nephew Jules suffered from schizophrenia and committed suicide during the time that he was working on Fuck You and the lyrics fitted his grief like a glove. The track sparked the idea to record a full album about horrors that come knocking in the middle of the night, during which the borders between reality and dreams or being awake and sound asleep are unclear.

Radulovich relied on his improvisation skills to show him the way on Sleepwalker and ended with a patchwork quilt of moods and genres. Fox & Plymouth is almost pastoral, Sleep has a skewed Tom Waits NOLA vibe and Rabid Dogs and Silver Moons is funky tune peppered with dissonant chords and treated vocals. This an album that takes grief to the max, an act of therapeutic exorcism that remains lingering in the brain long after you've heard it.

Sleepwalker is released on Titicacaman Records.

  1. 3:17 AM
  2. Numb
  3. Apnea
  4. Fuck You
  5. Rabid Dogs and Silver Moons
  6. Sleepwalker
  7. The Kinder Crew
  8. Ack House
  9. Fox & Plymouth
  10. O Death
  11. Sleep
  12. Umbilical
  13. Numb +
  14. Old Fashioned Panic Attack

» marceloradulovich.com

No comments:

Post a Comment