November 08, 2017

The Bullfight: Whisper In The Dark For Me

On June 18 this year Dutch folk noir band The Bullfight set up their instruments in a living room in The Hague on to record a live album, with no audience present. Listening to Whisper In The Dark For Me is like having a private concert in the comfort of you own home. Performing songs form their last three studio albums they opted for an almost completely acoustic approach.

The sextet's forte is their ability for captivating their audience with storytelling songs. With singer Nick Verhoeven as Master of Ceremonies the band's music has written off-licence speakeasy written all over it. With a bit of DeVotchKa, and Tom Waits and Nick Cave nodding approval in the background, The Bullfight work their way through shared of jump blues, Weill and Brecht, swing and jazz.

Whisper In The Dark For Me can stand up against any of the acts who once were part of MTV's Unplugged series. in fact the intimacy of the proceedings and crispness of the recording make this a 101 for a live albums. Decent speakers are essential to fully appreciate it. Fingers crossed for a vinyl version somewhere down the line.

The Bullfight:
Nick Verhoeven: lead vocals, cabasa
Thomas van der Vliet: guitar, samples
Tim Moerkerken: organ, piano
Eddie Kuijpers: electric & double bass
Andre van den Hoek: drums
Esther Vroegindeweij: violin

Whisper In The Dark For Me will be released on December 11th on Brandy Alexander Recordings.

  1. That Man
  2. The Ballad of Martin van Dongen
  3. Jenny's Got a Gun
  4. Nathalie Strangle Me
  5. This Village's Lonely Pastor
  6. The Storm Behind Our Smiles
  7. Bambo Knife Woman
  8. The Ballroom Blitz
  9. My Comeback
  10. The Weeping Willow

A new studio album, most likely Chapter 2 of their Shame, Guilt, Deception concept, will be released in 2018.

Live date:


HCTF review of Shame, Guilt, Deception – individuals chapter I.

No comments:

Post a Comment