July 04, 2017

HCTF premiere - John Elderkin & ¡Moonbeams No Mas!: The Fall & Rise of John Elderkin and ¡Moonbeams No Mas!

It took John Elderkin & ¡Moonbeams No Mas! two years to put together a sequel to David Bowie's The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars John Elderkin was the driving force behind the realisation of The Fall & Rise of John Elderkin and ¡Moonbeams No Mas!, with singer Danielle Howle riding shotgun. Tapping into the Notch Carolina indie musicians pool they enlisted members of The Old Ceremony, Pressure Boys, Sex Police, Dillon Fence, What Peggy Wants’, The Temperance League, Hobex, and National Symphony Orchestra, Popes to help them out.

The Fall & Rise of John Elderkin and ¡Moonbeams No Mas! supposedly continues where Bowie album ended. So, the world did not end after the predicted five years, which is all very nice, but also gets humanity into a flux. A small band crew decides to find what the Hell happened and travels to the Moon, enjoying a brief meeting with vintage satellite Telstar, a perfect excuse to include a cover of the Tornadoes classic.

The album is seamless and should be enjoyed in one sitting, in order not to be taken by surprise when one song seems to end abruptly - it doesn't. Musically they switch from acoustic pop to full-on rock and back, with a couple of short connecting interludes. Hop on board of their homemade rocket and enjoy Bo Diddley meets the B52's during Messy Down Below (a HCTF exclusive), and don't be left behind when the call for Get Back in the Van is uttered with force. Bad trips are not so bad for Fat Levon on Acid and in the end all is well of sorts they wrap up the album with Give Me Your Hands, mirroring Bowie's Rock 'n' Roll Suicide.

The Fall & Rise of John Elderkin and ¡Moonbeams No Mas! is a self-released album. Buy it (vinyl, CD, USB, digital) from their website.

  1. News Came Over
  2. We Waited Five Years
  3. Messy Down Below
  4. The Message
  5. Song For David Bowie
  6. Gather Your Strength
  7. Don't Look Right at the Sun
  8. Keep It Down
  9. Get Back in the Van
  10. You Got Sick
  11. Danielle, Long Gone
  12. Fat Levon on Acid
  13. Megaphone on the Moon
  14. Sore Afraid
  15. Telstar
  16. A Trip to the Moon
  17. Give Me Your Hands

Live dates:
  • 09/09 Chapel Hill, NC @ Cat's Cradle
  • 09/10 Charlotte, NC @ Evening Muse

» moonbeamsnomas.com

No comments:

Post a Comment