October 31, 2016

Skinny Girl Diet: Heavy Flow

Distortion, fuzz and feedback are the key elements for London grunge punk trio Skinny Girl Diet. Their new album is a kick in the balls of the music industry honchos, who steered to safer waters once loud music went out of style again. The three women are out of tune with the times, but are the perfect antidote for boring grunt work, school and life in general. These 21st century riot grrrls prefer boredom and the quick rush of DMT to fawning over some bloke.

They don't give a fuck about bum notes or missed cues. Their Heavy Flow album is all about anger, energy and a fierce DIY attitude. They rush things most of the time and mkaing mistakes or falling over is part of the deal. Recommended if you like the Slits, X-Ray Spex and Bleach-era Nirvana.

Skinny Girl Diet:
Amelia Cutler: bass, backing vocals
Ursula Holliday: drums, backing vocals
Delilah Holliday: guitar, vocals

Heavy Flow is released on vinyl on Happy Happy Birthday To Me records, and on CD via Fiasco Recordings.

Side A:
  1. Comedown Intro
  2. Okay
  3. Eyes that paralyse
  4. Yeti
  5. Bored
  6. Lazy Eye
  7. Wolf Pack
Side B:
  1. Silver Spoons
  2. Fix Me
  3. Pretty Song
  4. DMT
  5. Forget
  6. Wasted Smile
  7. Comedown Outro

» Skinny Girl Diet on Facebook

No comments:

Post a Comment