October 11, 2016

Lara Filip: Stop Time

Folk singer Lara Filip likes to add a bunch of theatrics into her songs on her new album Stop Time. Besides being a singer she is an actress, so that makes sense. She doesn't shun grand gestures in order to reach the people in the cheap seats. Piano pop is obviously her first love and while she tends to overdo at times the feelings she projects are quite real. Life hasn't always been to her - trying to maintain a long-distance love affair, breast cancer, but it seems that she has found closure through her music.

Filip is a raw talent with a smooth style. Stop Time is an adequate name for an album that looks back at the great songwriters of the Seventies. A bit more Chicago, her place of residence, and less West Coast, could have it made more interesting. She has the stories, so she shouldn't be afraid to speak up when she sings. It's perfectly human to scream at life sometimes.

Stop Time is a self-released album. Buy it from CD Baby or iTunes. Full stream on Soundcloud.

  1. The Other Side
  2. She's Not Coming Home
  3. Space Between
  4. Stop Time
  5. Satellites (Featuring Adam Michaels)
  6. Mountain Song
  7. Knock It Down
  8. Not 'til It's Time
  9. Feathers & Glass
  10. Jericho Road

» larafilip.com

No comments:

Post a Comment