May 14, 2016

The Redhill Valleys: The Redhill Valleys

Canadian folk rock trio The Redhill Valleys go for old school harmonies on their self-titled debut album. Based in Hamilton, ON, the band members had been performing together in various permutations over they years before taking the plunge in 2014 and start a band. Sharing a loved for vintage folk, R&B and country rock they carefully polished their sound. Recording the album took almost a year, but it sounds like one spontaneous set.

The Redhill Valleys write about subjects as old as the hills - relationships, heartbreak and being skint and tough decisions, and serve them up in tried–and–true arrangements. The vocals are upfront most of the time, and always at ease. You can't go wrong three singers, who fully understand the art of harmonizing. A welcome addition to playlists labeled "road trip" or "melancholy". There is no need to rush things when you know where you are going.

The Redhill Valleys:
Danielle Beaudin: guitar, vocals
Tim Allard: drums, vocals
Chelsea McWilliams: bass, vocals

The Redhill Valleys is a self-released album. Buy it from their website.

  1. Falling for You
  2. Can't Be Alone
  3. Lay Me Down
  4. Wrong Way Turns Out Right
  5. When You're Gone
  6. Either Or
  7. Ragged And Run Down
  8. Parry Sound
  9. Waiting
  10. The Beast Outside The Door
  11. Mean Old Sally
  12. Burn It Down

Live dates:
  • 05/22 Hamilton, ON @ The Cat N Fiddle
  • 06/19 Burlington, ON @ Sound Of Music Festival
  • 07/02 Waterdown, ON @ OH Canada Rib Fest
  • 07/22 Toronto, ON @ The Cameron House
  • 07/30 Simcoe, ON @ The Lynn River Music Festival
  • 08/28 Dundas, ON @ Greenbelt Harvest Picnic


1 comment: