March 14, 2016

Town of Saints: No Place Like This

Dutch-Finnish band folk band Town of Saints have broadened their musical scope on their second full-length No Place Like This. They have added Caribbean rhythms, a bit of funk, soul and rockabilly, which might put off the hardcore folkies but will be embraced by the crowds attending the Summer festival circuit - Short Circuit Breakdown has written encore anthem written all over it.

Lead singer Harmen Ridderbos appears to have been listening to a lot of DeVotchKa, most notably for the high notes and the use of echo. Their secret weapon isn't in the front line: bass player Jukka Kiviniemi is blessed with a rock solid, but fluid command of his instrument. While his band mates are busy broadcasting their joyful, sunny side up music, he is right there supplying subtle patterns that deserve the thumbs up from George Porter Jr and Carole Kaye.

Town of Saints:
Harmen Ridderbos: lead vocals, guitar
Heta Salkolahti: violin, vocals
Jukka Kiviniemi: bass
Berend Rombouts: guitar
Jesse Bosman: drums

No Place Like This will be released thru Snowstar Records (bright red vinyl, CD and digital). Release date: April 1st.

  1. Modern Life
  2. Needle In The Hay
  3. Short Circuit Breakdown
  4. Legions
  5. Win
  6. Do Ya Say
  7. Württemberg Calm
  8. No Place Like This
  9. Shapes
  10. It's Beautiful
  11. Hold On

Live dates:
  • 04/02 Groningen, Netherlands @ Vera
  • 04/03 Leiden, Netherlands @ Velvet (in-store)
  • 05/11 Hamburg, Germany @ Hafenklang - Goldener Salon
  • 05/12 Berlin, Germany @ Privatclub
  • 07/31 Amsterdam, Netherlands @ Damaris Festival


HCTF review of Something To Fight With.

No comments:

Post a Comment