April 02, 2015

Blimp Rock: Sophomore Slump

photo: Nicole Bilyea

Toronto poppy rock band Blimp Rock have a dream: to stage the first airborne festival over Lake Ontario. Or so they say. Truth is that they are a quartet with a knack for upbeat quirky songs with witty lyrics that you can dance too.

They show compassion for the shy dudes (Sensitive Boys), take a stern a look at music critics, PR folks and promoters (Music Industry Blues) and celebrate the perks of house parties (Let's All Stay In Tonight). The title track Sophomore Slump refers to dreaded second album syndrome that haunts bands after they gave it their all on their debut album. Recommended if you like They Might Be Giants and Weezer.

Blimp Rock:
Peter Demakos: vocals, electric guitar, acoustic guitar
Claire Whitehead: vocals, violin
Andrew Kinoshita: electric guitar, vocals
Heather Kirby: bass guitar

Sophomore Slump is a self-released album. Buy it from their website. Release date: April 7th.

  1. Will It Ever?
  2. Sophomore Slump
  3. Vampires
  4. Sensitive Boys
  5. My Mind Is A Shark
  6. Music Industry Blues
  7. Conflict Resolution
  8. Blimp Rock Live 2
  9. Let's All Stay In Tonight
  10. In The Doghouse

» blimprock.com

No comments:

Post a Comment