March 31, 2015

Ronan Conroy: The Game

Ronan Conroy is still on his "never-ending album" project, cherry picking songs from the stash of material he wrote since he went solo in 2013. After releasing his debut album Discontent he goes for a more bolder folk rock approach on The Game, a genre he is familiar with since his tenure with The Listeners.

Conroy is a storyteller like his hero Nick Cave. His voice isn't as deep, but his guitar playing can take care of the scary parts if need be. He has an open eye for the seedy elements of his surroundings (The Princess, the Coke Whore, and Magdalena) and rocky love affairs (We've all night). He is a lonely Irishman in New York, who is still trying to fit in, while preserving the habits of his native country. He is an acrophobic tightrope walker admiring the view. It makes captivating listening.

The Game is a self-released album. Buy it from his website.

  1. The Game
  2. How Long, Kitty?
  3. There is no answer
  4. Six cans and a bottle of liquor
  5. The Princess, the Coke Whore, and Magdalena
  6. Give me what I need
  7. We've all night
  8. One Way or Another
  9. Right or wrong
  10. Blue & Yellow
  11. It comes around
  12. If it's anything to you


HCTF review of Discontent.

No comments:

Post a Comment