October 21, 2014

Yinka Oyewole: Whirlwind Since The Day

photo: Ani Lang

Nigerian singer Yinka Oyewole covers a lot of ground on his new album Whirlwind Since The Day. Despite all his genre hopping - afrobeat, hip-hop, rock, funk - all his songs deal with danger of some sort: hostile big city surroundings in Stop! Breathe, the innocence of a lost Little Hipster Girl, drugs and alcohol in Poison.

With a powerful voice halfway between Terrence Trent D'Arby and Seal, Oyewole's message might be heard by people who usually don't pay much attention to lyrics. They are in for a surprise when they do.

Whirlwind Since The Day is released on I Blame ​The ​Parents ​Records. Buy it from Amazon or iTunes.

  1. No Brakes
  2. Stop! Breathe
  3. All You Think About
  4. Brooklyn
  5. Little Hipster Girl
  6. Lay Your Body Down
  7. If I
  8. Poison
  9. Mad Mad Mad
  10. The Wanderer Returns
  11. Willis
  12. Freaks International

» Yinka Oyewole on Facebook

No comments:

Post a Comment