October 13, 2014

Deepfieldview: Deepfieldview

Deepfieldview's self-titled full-length the fruit of a tribute to NYC guitarist and dream pop blogger extraordinaire Danny Lackey who succumbed to a brain tumor in 2012. He met Charlie Nieland (from NYC's Her Vanished Grace) in 2011 and they worked on a tune that would become 21 grams. Lackey knew he was going to die, but he wanted his to turn his musical ideas into a reality. With help from Eric Matthews (Cardinal), Joey Levenson (SPC ECO), Anna Bouchard (Drowner) and Nancy Nieland (Her Vanished Grace) he set out to work, recording demos when he was able to play guitar.

After Lackey died the project came to a stand still, until his wife Barbie stepped in, contributing her own ideas to his music. The album finally saw the light of day this year, fourteen songs that he never heard in this finalized form. Multi-layered and densely textured Deepfieldview is both a lament and a celebration. Dim the lights, disconnect the phone and let it play in one sitting.

Deepfieldview is a self-released album. Buy it from the band's website. Also on CDBaby, iTunes and Amazon.

  1. Sun Dappled
  2. She's Adorable
  3. The Wind
  4. The Old Guitarist/ La Vie
  5. Junegloom
  6. Tilting @ Windmills
  7. Medication Vs Meditation
  8. Great Escape
  9. Labyrinth Of Air
  10. Shields
  11. Celestia
  12. Pink Haze
  13. 21 Grams
  14. Glasz

» Deepfieldview on Facebook

No comments:

Post a Comment