September 19, 2014

Charming Axe: Gathering Days

Rob Newhouse, Eugenia Elliott and Hannah Hill are as roots as an Americana trio can be. Charming Axe was founded about ten years ago, naming themselves after a line from Earl Montgomery's One of These Days. Sharing a love for traditional songs they been part of the Chicago folk and bluegrass scene. Their latest album Gathering Days is a celebration of Appalachian three part harmony style, lonesome fiddle, banjo and upright bass. Try to stand still when they perform a fast-paced version of You Don’t Miss Your Water.

With 11 covers and four originals Gathering Days is a labour of love that will finds its way to the collection of folkies and roots freaks.

Gathering Days is a self-released album. Buy it from CD Baby or iTunes.

  1. Close Your Eyes (James Taylor)
  2. Beyond the Blue (Rob Newhouse)
  3. The Pain of Loving You (Dolly Parton, Porter Wagoner)
  4. One of These Days (Earl Montgomery)
  5. I Believed in You Darling (Bill Monroe)
  6. Supper Song (Eugenia Elliott)
  7. Out of Hand (Louvin Brothers)
  8. You Don’t Miss Your Water (William Bell)
  9. All Through the Night (Jules Shear)
  10. Come On Honey (Say I Do) (Eugenia Elliott)
  11. Price I Pay (Chris Hillman)
  12. Where Are You Tonight I Wonder (Andy Stewart)
  13. One Day I Walk (Bruce Cockburn)
  14. We Walk the Same Line (Tracey Thorn of Everything But The Girl)
  15. One Bright Star (Eugenia Elliott)


No comments:

Post a Comment