June 23, 2014

Froskull: Froskull

So is there any kind of memorable progressive rock coming out of Nashville, undisputed capital of country and western music? If you look hard enough you might run into Froskull, a band founded by Stephen Rockford Hammond. The current line up has been playing together since 2012, honing their skills and fine tuning a holistic approach that can go ballistic as well. They are a band looking up to the sky for inspiration, with song titles like Perihelion and Report From Ganymede and into themselves as well, linking the tunes with short instrumentals called Bardo (Tibetan for "intermediate state").

With a prominent grumbling electric guitar sound a la Yes and old school stereo effects they have opened a time capsule of vintage prog that doesn't sound dated at all. The accessible Should Have Known even has some commercial potential and could be passed off as a radio-friendly Marillion song. Purists fans will like the nod to King Crimson in the instrumental Alabaster.

Adam Dennis: drums
Brett Hammond: guitar
Stephen Rockford Hammond: guitar, keyboards, vocals
Jason Schond: bass

Froskull is a self-released album. Buy it from their website.

  1. A Thousand Years
  2. Wait
  3. Alabaster
  4. Should Have Known
  5. Bardo 1
  6. The Road to Sto-Vo-Kor
  7. Bardo 2
  8. Report from Ganymede
  9. Paramatman
  10. Bardo 3
  11. Perihelion
  12. Bardo 4

» froskull.com

No comments:

Post a Comment