February 04, 2014

Micah: Highs, Lows, Peaks, Valleys, Rivers

Micah Olsan is into jazz, funk and soul. Based in Milwaukee he released a couple of albums under Micah. with two fresh band mates Highs, Lows, Peaks, Valleys, Rivers comes close, to Simply Red, but just before for things get too smooth the bands turns left to join the ranks of acts like the Ryan Montbleau Band. Olsan is a fluid guitarist with a sense of timing that allows him to digress from the standard scales.

Highs, Lows, Peaks, Valleys, Rivers has a few radio friendly tunes - the jazzy Walk Away and funky pop song No Worries. The best stuff however can be found in the weird title track - spoken word clashing with funky backing vocals on top of a proggy loop, the ambitious textures and layers of 11-11 (Either/Or) and the self-explanatory OffBeat Clappers.

Micah Olsan: guitar, lead vocals
Adam Dosemagen: bass and harmony vocals
Cody Calderon: drums and harmony vocals

Micah: Highs, Lows, Peaks, Valleys, Rivers

Highs, Lows, Peaks, Valleys, Rivers is a self-released album. Download it for free from the band's website.

  1. Walk Away
  2. Till Sprin
  3. No Worries
  4. Take Care
  5. Days Not Gone
  6. DJ Cody's Record Flip
  7. 11-11 (Either/Or)
  8. Coffee
  9. Holy Roller
  10. OffBeat Clappers
  11. Us
  12. Highs, Lows, Peaks, Rivers, Valleys
  13. Thank You For Listening

Live dates:
  • 03/13 The Bay, Silver Spring, Milwaukee, WI
  • 03/29 Silver Creek Brew Pub, Cedarburg, WI

» micaholsan.com

No comments:

Post a Comment