December 21, 2013

Eureka Birds: Strangers

Baltimore pop quartet Eureka Birds are back with a new album. Strangers is more of the same - carefully crafted songs, but the guitar and drums are more upfront than on their previous releases. More Simon & Garfunkel, and less Brian Wilson. Melancholy and sadness are still the mood of choice, but optimism has crept into their lyrics, most notably in Fastest and the Beatles-que Spaceman.

With new bass player Scott Hesel the band has found new energy - they could turn into a happy band if they are not careful, but still can come up with an upbeat, pretty and depressing break-up song like lead singer Justin Levy's autobiographical Justin, It's Over and the album's slow closer Come On.

Eureka Birds:
Scott Hesel: bass
Justin Levy: keyboard, vocals
Dave Rogoza: guitar
Dan Vellucci: drums

Eureka Birds:  Strangers

Strangers is a self-released album. Download it from the band's website. Digital is pay-what-you-want.

  1. Baby's Got a Blade
  2. Mila Don't Make a Sound
  3. No Stranger to Heartache
  4. Fastest
  5. And We Are All the Same
  6. Spaceman
  7. Not Coming Home
  8. Shine Moon Shine
  9. Hallelujah
  10. Justin, It's Over
  11. Come On


HCTF review of Eureka!

No comments:

Post a Comment