October 04, 2013

STEED: Tomorrow Is Never Ending

photo: Emil de Jong

Dutch Britpop. Lots of bands in the Netherlands take their cues form Oasis these days or look even further back, implementing vintage Sixties organ sounds that bringing back Manfred Mann and the Animals. STEED, a quartet from Alkmaar have just released their second full-length Tomorrow Is Never Ending, a collection song dealing with the need for living dangerously with plenty of sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll, but also the comedown and the hangover that comes form partying all night long. Their unique selling point is the voice singer is lead singer Alex Pasveer, who can sneer like Liam Gallagher and channel the sadness of Alex Chilton.

Lead single Rollercoaster is what is says on the tin: a rollicking up tempo riff heavy song. The band feels most comfortable when they can play fast and loud The best track however are I Can't Reach You, a slow song with a menacing bass line that sounds familiar and fresh at the same time, and the title Tomorrow Is Never Ending, with syncopated guitar, a bit of brass on top of cheesy organ line that works nevertheless.

Alex Pasveer: guitar, vocals
Herman Halfmouw: guitar, backing vocals, organ
Misha van Toor; drums, backing vocals
Aris Rem: bass, backing vocals

STEED: Tomorrow Is Never Ending

Tomorrow Is Never Ending is released thru Rough Trade. Buy it from their website.

  1. Free
  2. Last Forever
  3. Come Clean
  4. Rollercoaster
  5. I Can't Reach You
  6. Tomorrow Is Never Ending
  7. Seen the Light
  8. Better Man
  9. Fading Sun
  10. You Don't See
  11. Tiffany

Live dates:
  • 10/04 Café 't Kroegje Hoorn
  • 10/05 Instore Popeye, Alkmaar (13.00)
  • 10/05 Instore Plato, Leiden (16.00)
  • 10/10 Gunnerys, Alkmaar
  • 10/11 Café Stiels, Haarlem
  • 10/20 Café Kraai, Eindhoven
  • 11/14 De Stapper, Alkmaar
  • 11/16 Odeon, Alkmaar

» steedmusic.nl

No comments:

Post a Comment