May 16, 2013

I am Oak: On Claws (reissue)

When Dutch indie folkies I am Oak released On Claws in 2010 the press outside those hometown Utrecht finally took notice of Thijs Kuijken's project. Basically a one-man band, Kuijken enlisted outside players to get a full sound. The CD has been out-of-print for quite some time and an expanded reissue will be available on June 1st 2013.

Kuijken's songs will comfortable next to the albums of The Low Anthem and Wovenhand. He uses a banjo as his weapon of choice, an instrument with a dry sound that is softened by adding layered vocals, acoustic guitar and a bit of trumpet every now and then. An album that sneaks up on the listener, just like the tiger on the cover. And like that big cat, it should be cherished and handled with care.

I am Oak: On Claws (reissue)

On Claws is released through Snowstar Records.

  1. We Are Sound
  2. On Trees and Birds and Fire
  3. Wolves in the Yard
  4. Don't I Know Enough
  5. Hearth
  6. Trumpets
  7. On Talons
  8. Lo and Behold
  9. Under Sun
  10. On Oxen
  11. Storm
  12. Murmur
  13. On Crests
  14. Clavicles
  15. Oakestra (bonustrack)
  16. Gold and Porcelain (bonustrack)

Live dates:
  • 05/18 Le Mini Who? @ Tivoli, Utrecht
  • 06/01 Red Show Session (solo) @ De Refter, Ubbergen
  • 06/15 Harlem Shuffle @ Patronaat, Haarlem
  • 06/22 Artis, Amsterdam


No comments:

Post a Comment