February 25, 2013

Imani Uzuri: The Gypsy Diaries

Imani Uzuri
photo: Shawn Lee

Singers come in all shapes and sizes and only few them make a lasting impression after going thrugh a fews bars of music. NYC based Imani Uzuri is one if them. Her voice, slightly husky and warm like Joan Armatrading's, can reach the cheap seats of the theater. She has powe r an intmacy rolled into one, a rare combination indeed. Her album The Gypsy Diaries crosses genre boundaries without missing a beat. A bit of jazz, some blues, grains of folk and gospel, hints of soul, but first and foremost she is a story teller.

With prominent roles for the flute, acoustic guitar and strings the overall sound of the album goes back to the Seventies. Old-fashioned craftman-ship never goes out of style.

Imani Uzuri: The Gypsy Diaries

The Gypsy Diaries is released on Her Holy Water Music.

  1. Beautiful
  2. Whisperings (We Are Whole)
  3. Winter Song
  4. O' Woman
  5. I Sing the Blues
  6. Lament
  7. Gathering
  8. Meet Me At the Station
  9. Raga for My Lovers
  10. You Know Me You Love Me
  11. Soul Still Sings
  12. Dream Child
  13. I'm Ready/She Came Traveling

She will premiere new compositions at Kaufman Music Center's Ecstatic Music Festival @ Merkin Concert Hall on March 16th, collaborating with Joseph C. Phillips and Numinous. It''s fully orchestrated piece. Listen to on of the new songs with just her on vocals and cello played by Marika Hughes.

» imaniuzuri.com

No comments:

Post a Comment