January 14, 2013

Kingsley Flood: Battles

Kingsley Flood
photo: David Green

Boston roots rock band Kingsley Flood are going for a tougher sound on some to the tracks on their new full-length Battles. Imagine the early Seventies Kinks trying their hand at hard-hitting Americana. The sextet takes the listener to late-night dance party with plenty of old school keyboards in Pick Your Battles, distorted guitars on the upbeat Down, a vaudeville piano in King's Men and glam rock swagger a la The New York Dolls in Strongman.

It's not free-for-all rock through. Acoustic songs like the album's opener Change My Mind, Waiting for the River to Rise (with the trumpet in the spotlights for a few memorable bars) and especially Sigh a While with Naseem Khuri and Jenée Morgan trading vocals, show the bands' agile melodicism.

Kingsley Flood:
Naseem Khuri: vocals, guitar
Jenée Morgan: violin, saxophone, vocals
Chris Barrett: trumpet, keys, percussion, vocals
George Hall: guitar, vocals
Nick Balkin: bass, vocals
Travis Richter: drums, percussion

Kingsley Flood: Battles

Battles is a self-released album. Buy it from the band's website. Release date: February 5th.

  1. Change My Mind
  2. Sun's Gonna Let Me Shine
  3. Pick Your Battles
  4. Waiting for the River to Rise
  5. Down
  6. Sigh a While
  7. Hard Times for the Quiet Kind
  8. The Fire Inside
  9. King's Men
  10. Strongman
  11. Habit
  12. This Will Not Be Easy

Live dates:
  • 01/31 Thirsty Moose Taphouse,Portsmouth, NH (w/ Eddie Japan)
  • 02/02 Rhumb Line, Gloucester, MA
  • 02/09 Brighton Music Hall, Boston, MA #
  • 03/08 Bug Jar, Rochester, NY
  • 03/09 DBGB, Buffalo, NY (w/ Son of the Sun)

» kingsleyflood.com

HCTF review of Colder Still.

No comments:

Post a Comment