November 29, 2012

Bambi Lee Savage: Darkness Overshadowed

American singer-songwriter Bambi Lee Savage has just released her new solo album Darkness Overshadowed. Savage is a name that will ring a bell for her work as an engineer at Hansa Tonstudio in Berlin, working on U2’s Achtung Baby and Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds' The Good Son.

She is not very prolific as a solo artist. Darkness Overshadowed is only her third album, but safe for the sappy tune for Jesus No Stranger to Sorrow it has been worth the wait. Dark Americana rules supreme in Easy Way, Take Me Down and Waiting. Folk gets an outing in Elsinore She mastered German during her stay in Berlin and Nicht Mehr she come off like an updated of Marlene Dietrich.

Accompanied by Mick Harvey, James Cruickshank and Rosie Westbrook, Savage takes control without raising her voice. Her vocals are smack in the middle of the mix. Recommended if you like Marianne Faithfull and Stevie Nicks. Dark aArmciacana with an a mainland Europe dressing.

Bambi Lee Savage: vocals, guitars, keyboards
Mick Harvey: guitars, keyboards, bass, drums, percussion
James Cruickshank: guitars, keyboards
Rosie Westbrook: double bass

Bambi Lee Savage: Darkness Overshadowed

Darkness Overshadowed is a self-released album. Buy it from her website.

  1. Easy Way
  2. Nearly Gone
  3. Speed of Life
  4. Nicht Mehr
  5. Oh Loneliness
  6. Elsinore
  7. Take Me Down
  8. Good Advice
  9. No Stranger to Sorrow
  10. Waiting


No comments:

Post a Comment