October 18, 2012

Trapped Mice: Winter Sun

Scottish avant-folk band Trapped Mice kick off their new album Winter Sun with The Ending an instrumental featuring horses and sirens. It's a good way to introduce their blend of old school tunes with a touch of 21st Century tomfoolery. Singer Ian Tilling can holler and soothe, two moods that are mirrored by Lucie Miller's violin.

The Edinburgh quintet has found way to tough and fragile simultaneously. Tracks like Dance While Winter Cries and Mona Lisa ar goods songs to play when you are staring out of the window when the Fall rains are beating down on the roof. The Devil Wandered In and Hermit Point will please fans of The Smiths and Echo & the Bunnymen.

Trapped Mice:
Ian Tilling: vocals, guitar
Dave Friend: guitar, keys
Brian Pokora: bass, ukulele
Lucie Miller: violin and keys
Barry Jackson: drums

Trapped Mice: Winter Sun

Winter Sun is released thru Armellodie. Release date: November 5th.

  1. An Ending
  2. Cancel Shift
  3. Dance While Winter Cries
  4. Mona Lisa
  5. Hermit Point
  6. Quiet Place
  7. Night of Broken Glass
  8. Cameraman
  9. Arthur's Seat
  10. The Devil Wandered In
  11. Demons

Live dates:
  • 10/25 Chelsea's, Baton Rouge, LA
  • 10/27 The Blue Nile Balcony Room, New Orleans, LA
  • 11/08 The Ogden Museum of Southern Art, New Orleans, LA
  • 11/10 Bear Creek Music Festival, Live Oak, FL
  • 11/23 La Grange, Dallas, TX
  • 12/07 The Sunset, Seattle, WA
  • 12/15 The Other Side, Denver, CO
  • 12/21 Webby D's, Fort Smith, AR

» Trapped Mice on Facebook

No comments:

Post a Comment