March 20, 2012

Neil Young & Crazy Horse: new album "Americana" 06/05

Neil Young & Crazy Horse have announced Americana, out June 5. It's a covers album, featuring eleven folk songs, including Woody Guthrie's This Land Is Your Land.

  1. Oh Susannah
  2. Clementine
  3. Tom Dooley
  4. Gallows Pole
  5. Get A Job
  6. Travel On
  7. High Flyin' Bird
  8. She'll Be Comin' Round The Mountain
  9. This Land Is Your Land
  10. Wayfarin' Stranger
  11. God Save The Queen

Neil in the press release:

What ties these songs together is the fact that while they may represent an America that may no longer exist, the emotions and scenarios behind these songs still resonate with what’s going on in the country today with equal, if not greater impact nearly 200 years later. The lyrics reflect the same concerns and are still remarkably meaningful to a society going through economic and cultural upheaval, especially during an election year. They are just as poignant and powerful today as the day they were written.

So the long wait for new original songs with the Horse continues.


No comments:

Post a Comment