January 30, 2012

The Forty Whacks: The Death Of ...

Garage band The Forty Whacks play fast punk metal songs with a rock twist. Based in Beach Park, IL, the quartet is slowly building a fan base. They have released one EP so far. The Death Of... is a collection of lo-fi songs, energetic and - sometimes - all over the place. A few unmemorable mid-tempo metal songs - New Pathology and Flowers) but also some good stuff: the angry Afterbirth, with the typical nu-metal lyric "I've lost my job today and now I'm really fucked" and Ever Since That Day, with a weird out-of-tune intro that will catch punk loving listeners on the wrong foot.

There is one track on this EP that can get them out of obscurity. Death by Electric Car is a fist pumping rock anthem with simple but highly effective riff that gets stuck inside your head instantly. The band is currently working on Dying Is So Last Year, their first full-length. If they focus on their strong points these guys may have future as a leading underground band.

The Forty Whacks:
Johnny Pierro: vocals
Tom Rutledge: guitar, vocals
Todd Rutledge: bass, vocals
Marc Harman: drums

The Forty Whacks: The Death Of ...

The Death Of ... is a self-released EP. Buy it from the band's website. Steam the fiuull EP on Soundcloud.

  1. Ever Since That Day
  2. Afterbirth
  3. Flowers
  4. Death by Electric Car
  5. Lies
  6. New Pathology

(Death by Electric Car by The Forty Whacks)

Live dates:
  • 02/11 Chicago, IL @ Venue: Lilly's
  • 02/22 Chicago, IL @ Cubby Bear Wrigleyville
  • 03/02 Kenosha, WI @ Finney's Lounge

Video: The Forty Whacks - Ever Since That Day

» The Forty Whacks on Facebook
» moriartyrecords.com

No comments:

Post a Comment