January 12, 2012

Andrew Collberg: "Dirty Wind" b/w "Back on the Shore"

Singer and multi-instrumentalist Andrew Collberg was born in Sweden, grew up in New Zealand, and is now based in Tucson, AZ, He is currently working on his third LP. Two of the tracks of that album have been picked by vinyl label Fort Lowell Records for their 7 inch single series.

Rocker Dirty Wind is propelled forward by a lead guitar channeling the sound of Crazy Horse. Back on the Shore is slower before ending with barely controlled feedback in the coda. Collberg is singing close to the mike, like he is standing right next to you. Engineered by Jim Waters (Sonic Youth, Jon Spencer Blues Explosion) the songs sound raw an very much alive. Arthur Vint (drums), Ian Stapp (bass), and Connor Gallagher (guitar) have done an excellent job adding an edge to his songs that was already there waiting to be heard when he was doing his recording in his bedroom.

Dirty Wind b/w Back on the Shore is released by Fort Lowell Records on 7 inch mint green vinyl, limited to 500 copies. Comes with a digital download card. MP3s are mastered for digital playback. Vinyl challenged? Look for it at the usual digital outlets. Release date: January 31.

Video: Andrew Collberg - Back on the Shore

» andrewcollberg.com

No comments:

Post a Comment