October 17, 2011

Nobody Beats The Drum: Currents

Nobody Beats The Drum are in the front line of Dutch electronic dance music. On their new album Currents looks at the life and work of Nikola Tesla, the Serbian-American inventor, mechanical engineer, and electrical engineer, a pioneer of electromagnetism without whom computers, and wireless transportation of power and energy wouldn't be possible.

Sjam Sjamsoedin and Jori Collignon take care of the music and Rogier van der Zwaag is the master of visuals. Those dicpilines interact when they play live, a far cry from the static VJ plus laptops set-up. Jan Dijk has put together a nine-screen backdrop, called The Amazing 333" Tele Novum Automaton.

All the multimedia hoopla aside, the music takes center stage. Nobody Beats The Drum has cooked up a heady mixture of early rave, breakbeats, electronics, dubstep and Eighties disco and pop. Listeners are treated to stuttering robots in Lights Bulbs, Dr. Who like repetitive motif in Mind Control and elongated keyboard grooves in Poisson Vert, a track that sounds a lot like C-Mon Kypski, another avant-dance band that Colligon is playing in.

Nobody Beats The Drum: Currents

Currents is a self-released album. Buy it from the band's website.

  1. Poisson Vert
  2. Nine Doors
  3. Light Bulbs
  4. Those Were The Days
  5. Blood On My Hands
  6. Natural Thing
  7. Mind Control
  8. Girls Suck
  9. The Weather
  10. Radikal Device
  11. Lost Lightning
  12. Death Ray
  13. Show Your Shades

The CD release party will held be at the Amsterdam Dance Event on October 21.

Live dates:
  • 10/21 Studio K, Amsterdam Dance Event, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • 10/29 Effenaar, Eindhoven, The Netherlands
  • 11/04 JH Zizag, Merksplas, Belgium
  • 11/12 Simplon, Groningen, The Netherlands
  • 11/18 Hedon, Zwolle, The Netherlands
  • 11/19 Poppodium Nieuwe Nor, Heerlen, The Netherlands
  • 11/25 Doornroosje, Nijmegen, The Netherlands
  • 12/15 Atak, Enschede, The Netherlands
  • 12/23 Gebouw T, Bergen Op Zoom, The Netherlands

» nobodybeatsthedrum.com

No comments:

Post a Comment