August 13, 2011

The Luck of Eden Hall: Butterfly Revolutions, Vol. 1

Neo-psycheledica with lush melodies and lyrics about vinyl and velvet. Chicago trio The Luck of Eden Hall have released their first disc of their two-part album Butterfly Revolutions. Dark fairy tales about end badly, silly girls and of course outerspace are bathed in music that touches base with The Zombies, Love, early Pink Floyd, The Byrds and Radiohead.

It's rather ambitious to come up with a double album these days, given the shorter attention span that most listeners currently have. The Luck of Eden Hall are doing it on a shoestring budget, and spending what money they had on capturing the sound and feel of treated vocals and guitar. It's a charming effort and with a bit of luck album sales can be used for a broader sound for Vol. 2.

The Luck of Eden Hall:
Gregory Curvey: guitars, vocals, piano
Mark Lofgren: bass, vocals
Carlos Mendoza: drums

The Luck of Eden Hall: Butterfly Revolutions, Vol. 1

Butterfly Revolutions, Vol. 1 is released on Myopic records. Buy it from CD Baby

  1. Chrysalide
  2. This Weather's Better For Velvet Clothes
  3. Medicine Queen
  4. Jupiter
  5. Velvet And Corduroy
  6. Shampoo
  7. All Her Seasick Parties
  8. Silly Girl
  9. Pretty Little Things
  10. She Falls Down
  11. Blue Vinyl
  12. Queen Anne's Lace


No comments:

Post a Comment