March 31, 2011

Younger Brother: Vaccine

Younger Brother, the UK dance pop trio founded by Simon Posford, Benji Vaughan and Ruu Campbell , are slowly moving to mainstream recognition. Embraced by the American jam band scene, their third album Vaccine was recorded with the aid of Marc Brownstein (Disco Biscuits) on bass, Tom Hamilton (Brothers Past) on guitar and jazz cat Joe Russo (currently in Furthur) on drums. Playing the big time festivals in the USA gave Posford a taste for using live instruments with a real band - you don't look cool fidgeting with your laptop.

Vaccine is a bit of a disappointment for the dance crowd who will lament the lack of rave-up bliss, but the alt.rock audience will find plenty of nice tidbits, with Russo as the MVP, laying down odd time signatures without missing a beat - percussionists should start with the intricate Pound A Rhythm. The lyrics have matured, most notably Safety In Numbers, a song about a physicist walking in the woods after the credit crunch, contemplating the reality of trying to add things up in order to capture the fabric of time and reality.

Younger Brother haven't found their proper rock sound yet, but they are serious students who will get there one album at the time.

Younger Brother: Vaccine

Vaccine is released on Younger Brother Ltd in the UK (April 11) and SCI Fidelity Records in the USA (April 26).

  1. Crystalline
  2. Shine
  3. Pound A Rhythm
  4. Safety In Numbers
  5. Night Lead Me Astray
  6. Train
  7. Spinning Into Place
  8. System 700
  9. Tetris

Line-up for the USA tour: Posford (synth/guitar), Vaughan (Ableton / synth) and Campbell (vocals) are joined by Matt White on guitar, Chris Borud on bass and Nikolaj Bjerre on drums.

Live dates:
  • 04/06 Bourbon St. Baltimore, MD (w/ Jesters of Kindness, Elemental)
  • 04/07 Highline Ballroom - New York, NY
  • 04/08 TLA Philadelphia, PA (w/ Conspirator)
  • 04/09 Cervantes Masterpiece Ballroom Denver, CO (w/ Prometheus, Inspired Flight, and Human Agency)


No comments:

Post a Comment