May 25, 2010

Setting Sun: Fantasurreal

Setting Sun, the project of Gary Levitt, scored a few points with the release of Children of the World in 2008, which was followed by a remix album - not a good sign for those who wanted to hear new stuff. And now they are getting it. On the new album Fantasurreal trumpets have taken over from the strings. Leavitt is using plenty of gizmos to mess with his vocals, who are sunk into the music and getting as far away from the prominent role that a singer usually wants.

Setting Sun is still focusing on subdued storytelling (the cello driven Don't Grow Up)- even the credit crunch is described with wonder (The Sympathetic CEO). Lo-fi lovers and hipsters will fill the dance floor, being seduced by the Eighties keyboards in Driving.

Setting Sun: Fantasurreal

Fantasurreal is released on Young Love Records. Release date: June 1st.

  1. Driving
  2. Make You Feel
  3. Sacrifice
  4. Don't Grow Up
  5. Into the Wire
  6. One Time Around
  7. I Love Mellotrons
  8. The Tree
  9. Handsome Bride
  10. The Sympathetic CEO


HCTF review of Children of the World.

No comments:

Post a Comment