March 05, 2010

The Dig: Electric Toys

NYC rock band The Dig are the melodic step brothers of bands like The Strokes. With a zooming bass and twin guitars sounding like The New York Dolls' Steve Conte playing with a clone brother they sing about a girl cutting shorts the lifespan of young men (She's Going To Kill That Boy) and the noble art of small talk (I Just Wanna Talk To You).

So it's basic Big Apple garage rock about boy-meets-girl and vice versa? Yes, it is, although most of the bands in that niche won't include a ballad like Feel Like Somebody Else.

The Dig:
David Baldwin: guitar, vocals
Emile Mosseri: bass, vocals
Erick Eiser: keyboards, guitar
Jamie Alegre: drums

The Dig: Electric Toys

Electric Toys is released on April 27th.

  1. Carry Me Home
  2. Two Sisters In Love
  3. You're Already Gone
  4. She's Going To Kill That Boy
  5. Penitentiary
  6. Sick Sad Morning
  7. He's A Woman
  8. Look Inside
  9. For All Your Sins
  10. Shadow
  11. I Just Wanna Talk To You
  12. Feel Like Somebody Else
Live dates (supporting Portugal. The Man):
  • 3/05 Austin, TX @ The Parish
  • 3/06 Austin, TX @ The Parish
  • 3/09 Gainesville, FL @ Common Grounds
  • 3/10 Ybor City, FL @ Crowbar
  • 3/11 Orlando, FL @ The Social
  • 3/12 St Augustine, FL @ Harvest of Hope Fest
  • 3/13 Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
  • 3/18 Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
  • 3/19 New York, NY @ Highline Ballroom
  • 3/20 Pittsburgh, PA @ Mr Small's Theater
  • 3/21 Cincinnati, OH @ 20th Century Theater
  • 3/24 Columbia, MO @ Mojo's
  • 3/26 Denver, CO @ Bluebird Theater
  • 3/27 Vail, CO @ The Sandbar
  • 3/28 Aspen, CO @ Belly Up Aspen


No comments:

Post a Comment