March 23, 2010

Jinx And The Back Alley Cats: Fish As Friends

Jinx And The Back Alley Cats: from Fort Wayne, Indiana, are a punk country hardcore acoustic band with whimsical lyrics, which might seem confusing at first, but it's all there on their Fish As Friends album.

The wavering vocals in the slower songs need a bit of would be better, and the recording lacks bottom and clarity, but think of it as a mash-up of the Dead Kennedys sans the politics (Twin Bed, Bo Peep) and the swagger and fun of the New York Dolls (Dry N Strung) clashing with the lyrical weirdness of Robyn Hitchcock. This is a band that can lots of beers on a packed club night.

Jinx And The Back Alley Cats: Fish As Friends

Fish As Friends is a self-released album. Buy it from the band's website. The limited physical edition (200 copies) comes in a handprinted, numbered silkscreen which contains the CD and a copy of lyrics.

  1. Twin Bed
  2. Animals
  3. Bo Peep
  4. Dry N Strung
  5. Way I Am
  6. Machine Wing
  7. Jeffrey
  8. Fish As Friends
  9. Line In The Sand

Jinx And The Back Alley Cats:
Brian Jenkins: guitar, vocals
Derek Mauger: guitar, backing vocals
Michael Jenkins: bass
Tom Childers: drums

Live dates:
  • 03/26 Calhoun Street Soups and Salads (w/ Vacation Club & the Orange Opera), Fort Wayne, IN
  • 04/16 Vollrath Tavern (w/ Vacation Club), Indianapolis, IN


No comments:

Post a Comment