February 07, 2010

Peasant: Shady Retreat

photo: Heidi Greenwood

Damien DeRose aka Peasant made some waves when he released his On The Ground album in the summer of 2008. On his sophomore release Shady Retreat he sounds more confident, having found his voice and being more adventurous in his arrangements.

Acoustic guitar and piano are still his main instruments. Spicing things up with organ has added another layer to his work. DeRose is evolving into Americana singer who should appeal to the the "in-the-know" crowd and, hopefully, outside that niche too.

Peasant: Shady Retreat

Shady Retreat is released on Paper Garden Records. Release date: March 2nd.

  1. Thinking
  2. The Distance
  3. Well Alright
  4. The End
  5. Pry
  6. Prescriptions
  7. Into The Woods
  8. Tough
  9. Hard Times
  10. Slow Down
Live dates:
  • 02/24 Mercury Lounge (w/ Rocky Votaloto), New York, NY
  • 03/11 World Cafe Live (CD release show), Philadelphia, PA
  • 03/12 Mad Hatter Club, Covington, KY #
  • 03/14 The Rudyard Kipling, Louisville, KY #
  • 03/18 Tap Room (Blackbird Booking Official SXSW Showcase), Austin, TX
  • 03/20 Howl Interiors Studio (SXSW Paper Garden Unofficial Day Party), Austin, TX
  • 03/24 Circle Bar, New Orleans, LA #

# Spring Tour w/ Seedy Seeds

» iampeasant.com
» myspace.com/peasant

No comments:

Post a Comment