October 16, 2009

Let Them Know: The Story of Youth Brigade and BYO Records

The biggest punk scene in the world was in Los Angeles and BYO Records was an influential label founded by the Stern Brothers wo were in the Youth Brigade. They are celebrating celebrating their 25th anniversary with a box set containing a compilation album filled with punk bands covering punk bands, a movie and a book.

Let Them Know, the documentary, is built around the Stern brothers and their friends who were in the punk scenes. The result is an array of talking heads intertwined with stills and wobbly footage from way back then. You had to be there to really appreciate it, but after awhile the stories pull you in - the mishaps, the tours, the concerts, the riots. The Youth Brigade evolved ito the new wave band The Brigade before going for the Fourties big band sound Royal Crown Revue, landing an appearance in The Mask, a big budget Hollywood movie starring Jim Carrey. That's as fawr awy form punk that you can get and the Sternss were kicked off their own label .... But all's well that ends well - nowadays there's an yearly bowling event where they can get drunk with their punk peers.

Let Them Know: The Story of Youth Brigade and BYO Records

The music is available on CD, digitally, and colored vinyl double LP.

  1. Young Till I Die - Bouncing Souls (originally by 7 Seconds)
  2. Headlights...Ditch - Off With Their Heads (originally by Bouncing Souls)
  3. No More Lies - NoFX (originally by Battalion of Saints)
  4. Misfortune - Youth Brigade (originally by SNFU)
  5. S.O.S. - Lagwagon (originally by One Man Army)
  6. Believe In Something - Blue Collar Special (originally by Youth Brigade)
  7. Future Dreams - The Cute Lepers (originally by Upright Citizens)
  8. Domination - oung Governor (originally by Marvelous Mark Youth Youth Youth)
  9. Wrecking Crew - Pulley (originally by Adolescents)
  10. We're Gonna Fight - Pennywise (originally by 7 Seconds)
  11. It's Empty - Filthy Thieving Bastards (originally by One Man Army)
  12. Dead and Broken - American Steel (originally by Alkaline Trio)
  13. The Ballad Of Johnny X - Johnny Madcap & The Distractions (originally by Bouncing Souls)
  14. Little White God - In The Red (originally by Leatherface)
  15. Fade Away Shark - Soup (originally by Pegboy)
  16. Fight To Unite - Dropkick Murphys (originally by Youth Brigade)
  17. Foreign Policy - Wednesday Night Heroes (originally by Stretch Marks)
  18. 1000 Miles - Anti-Flag (originally by Unseen)
  19. Victoria - Complete Control (originally by One Man Army)
  20. We're In! - Old Man Markley (originally by Youth Brigade)
  21. Keep On - The Ignorant (originally by Hepcat)
  22. Piss On You - Subhumans (originally by Personality Crisis)
  23. Scratches & Needles - Ch3 (originally by Nils)
  24. Pill Box - Lower Class Brats (originally by Lower Class Brats)
  25. Who Is Who - The Briefs (originally by Adolescents)
  26. Hating Every Minute - Krum Bums (originally by Alkaline Trio)
  27. In The Night - Ashers (originally by Bad Religion)
  28. I Scream - Matt Skiba (originally by The Brigade)
  29. All The Way Nothington - (originally by One Man Army)
  30. Doublewhiskeycokenoice - Leatherface (originally by Dillinger 4)
  31. Sink With California - 7 Seconds (originally by Youth Brigade)

» letthemknowthemovie.com
» byorecords.com

No comments:

Post a Comment