September 26, 2009

Darling New Neighbors: Rocket

The Darling New Neighbors from Austin, TX, bring accordion and violin to the self-released indie niche market. Rocket is an album that blows up inside your skull with musical genres jumping over each other, sometimes quite a few times within a single track. They could be the missing link between the Pixies and Belly, but with a classical twist and a penchant for old time dance music.

Founded by Elizabeth Jackson and Amy Moreland in 2004, the Darling New Neighbors went through quite a few drummers, before settling down with the current one, Karl Lundin, who teaches kids how to hit things in a way that makes sense. With Rocket they are ready fo take off - with dreamy vocals (Electolux, Indian Mounds) that can go into trash-talk mode (Take It) and sounds even more all over the place than the original - the cover of the Neil Young classic Only Love Can Break Your Heart.

This album is a serious contender for best lo-fi release of 2009.

Darling New Neighbors:
Elizabeth Jackson: vocals, accordion, violin, bass
Amy Moreland: guitar, vocals, bass
Karl Lundin: drums, vocals

Darling New Neighbors: Rocket

Rocket is a self-released album. Buy it from CDBaby.

  1. Lilliput
  2. Gasoline
  3. Electrolux
  4. Tango
  5. Stars
  6. Take It
  7. Sydney
  8. Indian Mounds
  9. Boys in Cars
  10. Pining
  11. Only Love Can Break Your Heart
  12. Bonus: Boys
Live dates:
  • 09/30 The Chain Drive, Austin, TX
  • 10/08 Flipnotics, Austin, TX
  • 10/23 Lambert's, Austin, TX
  • 10/24 Martini Ranch, San Antonio, TX


No comments:

Post a Comment