August 17, 2009

The New Up: Better Off

The New Up
photo: Dave Vann

San Francisco band The New Up have upped the ante with the second installment of their projected 3 EP series. Better Off sounds more adventurous than its 2008 Broken Machine predecessor. They have kept the post-rock mashed with new wave swagger and the confident delivery of vocalist ES Pitcher. Guitar player Noah Reid is more up front, showing off his chops while making sure he doesn't get buried in the dense percussion.

The New Up are a smart garage band who go beyond the guitar-bass-drums-vox set-up by adding a flute and a sax. It's not pop, it's not rock, but it's the kind of music that will induce appreciative head bobbing and finger snapping (and busting a move on the dance floor too). Stand out track Bitch shows the band slowing down and speeding up, without loosing focus along the way.

The New Up:
ES Pitcher: vocals, guitar, piano
Noah Reid: guitar, vocals, synth
Hawk West: flute, automation
Dain Dizazzo: bass, sax, percussion
Drew Bertrand: drums, percussion
Jack McFadden: drums, percussion, vocals (recording)

The New Up: Better Off

Better Off is a self-released album. Buy it from the band's website. Release date: August 18th.

  1. Dear Life
  2. Better Off
  3. Bitch
  4. Fuck You Roger (Until Further Notice)
  5. Wait (in memory of Danny G.)


HCTF review of Broken Machine.

No comments:

Post a Comment