July 19, 2009

Eilen Jewell: Sea of Tears

photo: Jennifer Lucey-Brzoza

Eilen Jewell might well be the best Boston based singer right now. Her third album Sea of Tears has written instant Americana classic all over it, with ten originals and three choice covers. She sings totally at ease backed by her trusty cohorts Jason Beek (drums, harmony vocals), Jerry Miller (electric, acoustic, and steel guitars) and Johnny Sciascia (upright bass). Vintage rock 'n' roll mixed with rockabilly, country and jazz are bursting at the seams - it sounds like a long lost early Sixties album.

Eilen Jewel sings like as well-rested Dusty Springfield, while guitar player Jerry Miller comes up with licks that are halfway between Hank B. Marvin and John Fogerty. Quentin Tarantino should hear this one it, and hopefully use a couple of tracks in one of his future films.

Eilen Jewell: Sea of Tears

Sea of Tears is released on Signature Sounds.

  1. Track List
  2. Rain Roll In
  3. Sweet Rose
  4. Shakin' All Over
  5. Sea of Tears
  6. Fading Memory
  7. Nowhere in No Time
  8. I'm Gonna Dress in Black
  9. One of Those Days
  10. Final Hour
  11. The Darkest Day
  12. Everywhere I Go
  13. Codeine Arms

» eilenjewell.com
» myspace.com/eilenjewell

No comments:

Post a Comment