April 11, 2009

The Zombies: Odessey and Oracle {revisited} The 40th Anniversary Concert

The Zombies - Live at the London Shepherd's Bush Empire, 7th March 2008
The Zombies - Live at the London Shepherd's Bush Empire, 7th March 2008
Left to right: Hugh Grundy, Colin Blunstone, Chris White, Rod Argent
photo: © 2008 Nick Wood

When Rod Argent and Colin Blunstone of The Zombies ambled on stage at the Shepherd's Bush Empire in London, March 7th 2008, for the first night of their three night stand performing Odessey and Oracle in its entirety, the audience had to wait a bit longer. First they got the Zombies Touring Band playing Zombies cuts, Colin Blunstone solo stuff and two Argent songs. Not that it mattered that much - what's an hour or so if you have been waiting for 40 years. For those who weren't there the DVD is the visual document of that night (a live 2CD-set was already released in 2008).

The CD set already proved that they can still play, but the DVD documents the sheer joy of the band playing the Odessey and Oracle song cyle for the very first time. When it was frist released in 1968 it flopped and the band broke up, frustrated. Introduced by Al Kooper, who picked them up as a young A&R guy for Capitol Records, this album gets the recognition as a lost classic that can stand up to such monuments as Pet Sounds and Revolver. Never mind that Chris White has trouble reaching the high notes - most singers would pale in the presence of Colin Blunstone whose phrasing reaches new heights - check out Say You Don't Mind and Hung Up On A Dream.

The Zombies took the concerts really serious, hunting down a 1896 Victorian organ (Butcher's Tale), inviting a string quintet for the Colin Blunstone solo stuff and a brass quartet for This Will Be Our Year.

Zombies DVD

Odessey and Oracle {revisited) The 40th Anniversary Concert is released by Red House, distributed by Absolute via Arvato . Release date: April 20th.

  1. I Love You
  2. Sticks and Stones
  3. Can't Nobody Love You
  4. What Becomes Of The Broken Hearted
  5. Misty Roses
  6. Her Song
  7. Say You Don't Mind
  8. Keep On Rolling
  9. Hold Your Head Up
Odessey & Oracle by The Zombies
  1. Introduction by Al Kooper
  2. Care of Cell 44
  3. A Rose For Emily
  4. Maybe After He's Gone
  5. Beechwood Park
  6. Brief Candles
  7. Hung Up On A Dream
  8. Changes
  9. I Want Her, She Wants Me
  10. This Will Be Our Year
  11. Butchers Tale
  12. Friends Of Mine
  13. Time Of The Season
  14. Tell Her No
  15. She's Not There
  • Zombies Documentary

Missed them the fist time around? They will do a reprise tour in the UK.

  • 04/22 Glasgow, ABC
  • 04/23 Bristol, Colston Hall
  • 04/24 Manchester, Bridgewater Hall
  • 04/25 London, Hammersmith Apollo

» thezombies.net

No comments:

Post a Comment