December 09, 2008

Femi Kuti: Day By Day

Femi Kuti exploded on the scene with the release of his Live at the Shrine DVD in 2004. This musician from Laos, Nigeria, has mastered the art of mixing of Afican and Western rhythms into a shoe-tapping mixture.

On his new album Day By Day he reports about the horrors carried out by the state's militia, a gun-wielding organization from Hell, who like to plunder, rape and kill at random. Pay attention to the lyrics when you move your body.

Femi Kuti: Day By Day

Day By Day is released on Mercer Street Records, an imprint of Downtown Records.

  1. Oyimbo
  2. Eh Oh
  3. Day By Day
  4. Demo Crazy
  5. Do You Know
  6. You Better Ask Yourself
  7. One Two
  8. Tell Me
  9. They Will Run
  10. Tension Grip Africa
  11. Dem Funny
  12. Let’s Make History
Live dates:
  • 01/07 Boston, MA, Paradise Rock Club
  • 01/08 New York, NY, Webster Hall
  • 01/09 Washington, DC, 9:30 Club
  • 01/10 Philadelphia, PA, World Café Live
  • 01/11 New York, NY, GlobalFEST @ Webster Hall
  • 01/14 Montreal, QC, Club Soda
  • 01/15 Toronto, ON, The Opera House
  • 01/16 Detroit, MI, Majestic Theatre
  • 01/17 Chicago, IL, Metro
  • 01/19 Boulder, CO, The Boulder Theatre
  • 01/20 Aspen, CO, Belly Up
  • 01/22 San Francisco, CA, The Fillmore
  • 01/23 West Hollywood, CA, House of Blues
  • 01/24 San Diego, CA, House of Blues

Stream the complete Day By Day album.


No comments:

Post a Comment