November 06, 2008

Eureka Birds: Eureka Birds

Eureka Birds from Maryland, Maryland, have released a self-titled album filled with carefully constructed indie pop rock songs. Lush arrangements bring back the days of the Kinks in their Muswell Hillbillies phase.

Singer and main songwriter Justin Levy leads his band through chord changes and tempo shifts with ease. With songs about love, unwanted dinosaurs turning up in the kitchen and ordinary people, this short debut album - running time a little over 36 minutes - shows a lot of promise. Some songs end rather abruptly. They have to work on their codas a bit.

Eureka Birds: Eureka Birds

Eureka Birds is a self-released album. Buy it at CD Baby.

  1. The Still Life
  2. Ten Words
  3. Oh! My Dear
  4. Found
  5. Dinosaurs
  6. Goodbye Space and Time
  7. Goodbye
  8. Regular People
  9. Mars
  10. Now They Rise
  11. Applewood Figure
Live dates:
  • 12/09 DC9, Washington, DC
  • 01/08 IOTA (w/ Perkasie), Arlington, VA


No comments:

Post a Comment